Inspired

Inspiration. Where does it come from? Is something still inspired if we’re simply replicating what someone else has already done?

In 2012, I was working in retail and dreading another holiday season. After a lot of deliberation, I quit my job.  No real direction was charted. There was only time and it was going to be use it to change the world

Inspired: Aroused, animated, imbued with the spirit to do something, by or as if by supernatural or divine influence.

I thought that if I simply started exploring and creating, that eventually some lightening-stuck idea would occur. It was for that moment I waited. And waited. And waited. It never came.

I once thought that if I was truly inspired, it had to be a new, revolutionary idea. I thought I could change the world with a moment’s ah-ha!

However, age and time have taught me two very valuable lesson.

If I am aroused to do, I am inspired. Inspiration can be awakened by some else’s words, pictures, or ideas and that’s okay. That spirit to do something can be brought to life by witnessing a need, a lack in society, or even an already established rally.

red-nose-1675188_1280

 

Inspiration isn’t necessarily about something new.  Alright, so part of me still wants to awaken a cause or create something that will revolutionize the way we think but that doesn’t mean that it needs to be entirely new. If Edison would have quit the light bulb because we already had a source of light, well, we can assume the outcome.

Newness isn’t a requirement to inspiration but action is. We can only truly say we were inspired when we are aroused to “do something” .

From_Root_to_Fruit_Cover_for_Kindle

I am inspired to write, even if blogging is not my forte.  I may find ideas on Pinterest or from artists on Instagram, but I am inspired to create. Further, at the end of the day, whatever I create is created with my hands or words. Whatever I speak or write and create is done with my voice.

While I may not revolutionize the world, create a rally cry for a cause, or create a new product, I am inspired to change the world. Even if it seems small.

It is for this reason that I launched Made for a Movement.

Made for a Movement is my Etsy shop that I started in an attempt to raise money for well-deserving organizations. While a small portion of each purchase is used to cover supplies, the remaining monies are collected and given away. Right now, it’s all paintings but I hope to expand to other items.

It’s not much but it’s something and that’s good enough to mark it as inspired.

And that’s alright by me.


Leave a Reply

