Freedom in Christ

As this posts, I’m already half way to Curacao. Our flight has taken off and I’m probably doing what I always do on plane rides or car rides or really any time I don’t have to be conscious during travel — I’m sleeping.

However, since I’ve shared about our Curacao trip several times, I thought I would share with you the same devotional I’ll be reading today. Actually, I’ll be re-considering it since I wrote it.

pencil-918449_1280

Each time we take a trip, Jay and I create a folder for the team members. We have prayer requests, fun facts, and a daily devotional. A lot of time and prayer goes into each day. Even when the topic seems like it shouldn’t quite fit according to our standards, God always knows what the future holds so we’ve never had a devotion that didn’t meet the day.

And since today is day one for us… here’s our day one devotional.

Today’s Bible Reading: James 5: 17-18; 1 Samuel 17: 19-37; John 14: 12-14 _____________________________________________________________________________________

Elijah was just a man. David was just a youth. Peter was just a fisherman. Esther was just a girl.

What are you? What are you “just”?”

You probably know the Sunday School answer to “What are you?” and it probably sounds a lot like, I’m a child of God, I’m saved by grace, or I’m holy, righteous, and redeemed. While those are true, and you might even say them convincingly, do you live that way?

Galatians 5: 1 says, “For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit to a yoke of slavery.”

Too many Christians chain themselves to the cross. They live in a constant state of remembrance of their sins. They are constantly weighed down by their unworthiness and they refuse to see themselves as equal  in sonship. The right words have been learned and can be recited quickly and convincingly but what the heart really believes doesn’t always match the words spoken. The consequence of those self-made chains is false guilt, weak prayers, and a shallow Christian life.

But what if more Christians actually believed all that they say? What if we truly believed that the power of God that spoke the light into being resides in us? What if we actually lived as if we believe that Christ in us can raise the dead? What if we behaved as free sons and daughters of Christ?

Matthew 10: 8 tells us that we are to heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse the lepers, and cast out demons. Mark 16: 17-18 are the verses that complete the Great Commission but we often forget that the signs that should accompany us as believers are similar to those found in Matthew.

Jesus didn’t give the ultimate sacrifice so we would be constantly wrapped in the grief of our sin. He set us free for FREEDOM!

Freedom is the first step to seeing the sick healed, the dead raised, lives radically changed, demons fleeing, and miraculous testimonies. We can’t seek the signs. Jesus, in fact, discourages that. But when we walk in the full Freedom and Confidence that Jesus’ blood bought for us, we’ll see them.

Deep down, your probably “just” a something. It’s time to remember that just you and Jesus make a pretty powerful team. You don’t need to have it all figured out — you just need to walk confidently knowing that He does. Be obedient — even if it means praying for rain during a drought, taking on a giant, establishing the Church, or saving a nation. Walk freely knowing that He won’t take you anywhere He’s not going too.

Spend some time in personal prayer today. Here are some things to pray:

  • God, I want to walk free. Help me overcome the lies that enemies uses to keep me tied to my sin.
  • May I pray big, brave, and bold prayers knowing that You are the power behind my prayers.
  • Help me remember that you set me free and that I am Your true son or daughter.

Take some time to think about these things.

  •  I most often forget that I am free when…
  • I can pray a big, brave, and bold prayer by praying for…
  • When praying for others, I can ask God to help me…

 


2 thoughts on “Freedom in Christ

Leave a Reply

